The Injury Clinic 8000m Handicap

The Injury Clinic 8000m Handicap winner Aaron Herbert

A strong north-westerly wind greeted the 73 starters in the Injury Clinic 8 km handicap held at Anglesea, with the hilly terrain setting a challenge for all. It was Aaron Herbert who handled the conditions best to win by 60 metres from perennial bridesmaid, Rachael Thompson, with Jeff Walker a similar margin behind in third. It was the third club win for Herbert who missed the first half of the season due to a knee injury. The Watkins Racing Squad provided generous prize money for the fastest of each gender. Whilst Rachel Thompson won the female division by five minutes, former club champion, Ron Thomas, had only six seconds to spare from Luke Haines.

Top 10 Placings

A. Herbert, 36:36; R. Thompson, 32:26; J. Walker, 39:58; J.Larsson, 40:39; S.Thompson, 35:01; L. Haines, 29:44; K. McNulty, 33:51; J. MacCarthy, 48:22; B. O’Brien, 33:04; P. Galvin, 39:24.

Fastest Times

  • Under 40 Male: M. Minney 30.17, P. Posterino 31.14.
  • Under 40  Female: R. Thompson 32.26, C. Moss 38.55.,
  • Veteran Male:  R. Thomas 29.38, L. Haines 29.44.
  • Veteran Female: S. Andrews 37.31, M. O’Neill 40.08.
  • Masters Male: K. McNulty 33.51, G. Wrest 36.27.
  • Masters Female: N. Angus 41.11, C. Crawford 42.43.
  • Legends Male: K. Walker 33.07, S. Crossfield 37.02.
  • Legends Female: P. Galvin 39.24. J. Austin 43.40.
  • Supervets Male: J. Walker 39.58, F. Engelsman 44.53.
  • Supervets Female: M. Blood 62.44.
  • Magic Money: T. McRae 34.07.
  • Watkins Racing Squad overall fastest times: R. Thompson and R. Thomas


Posted in Race Results

Upcoming Events