2023 Geelong Half Marathon

The 2023 Geelong Half Marathon is on Sunday April 16th, 2023. Join us for another great event along a fast, scenic course and directly support community organisations.

As well as being the Geelong Cross Country Club’s annual fundraiser, your entry fees help raise funds for the Andrew Love Cancer Centre at Geelong’s University Hospital.

Posted in Run Updates

Successful Dawnbuster Fun Run

Dawnbuster Fun Run 2021. all funds raised go to Give Where You Live

Saturday 31st December

Well done to the 300 runners who got up early and did Dawnbuster this morning under perfect conditions.

And a huge thankyou to the many Geelong Cross Country Club volunteers and to Sam Thomas from Give Where You Live. The profit of almost $3000 will help Give Where You Live continue to work for a fairer community in Geelong and our region.

Section winners and their times are listed here.

See you again on Dec 31st 2023 for the next Dawnbuster.

Paul Austin

Event co-ordinator

Posted in Run Updates

Dawnbuster Fun Run 2022

Dawnbuster Fun Run 2021. all funds raised go to Give Where You Live

Saturday December 31 2022 – 7:00am

Kick off your 2023 New Year celebrations with hundreds of runners as we take in the beautiful Geelong Waterfront at the break of dawn on our classic 5 km course.

Race begins at 7am sharp. We look forward to seeing you at the Waterfront!

How to enter

  • Adults $20
  • Child (17 years & under) $10
  • Entry on the day closes at 6.50 am
  • Payment on the day by card or cash

Register on-line or on the morning from 6am at The Carousel!

All funds raised go to Give Where You Live.

More details

  • Individual participant’s times will not be recorded; however finish times will be displayed on the race clock at the finish line.
  • Baggage storage will be available but we can only accept bags, not loose items, and can’t accept responsibility for valuables.
  • Please – no dogs or strollers due to the narrowness of the pavement in some places.

A collaboration between Geelong Cross Country Club and Give Where You Live.

Posted in Run Updates

2022 season awards

The 51st season of the club founded by Geelong Advertiser journalists in 1971 was very successful, ending with the presentation of numerous awards at Capri Receptions on Friday 30th September.


  • Open Champions
    • Female: K. Bramley and S. Andrews tied;
    • Male: P.Hagan.
    • Marathon Champion: D. Wright.
  • Age Champions:
    • Under 40: P. Hagan and K. Bahari;
    • Veterans: K.Wright and L. Brennan tied, E. Kelly;
    • Masters: S. Andrews and A. Ward;
    • Legends: P. Galvin and K. Walker;
    • SuperVets: D. Elward.
  • Rory Wilson Age Graded 10 km: D. Elward.
  • Best Clubpersons: J. MacCarthy and F. Engelsman.
  • Merit Awards: J. Morton, R.Dorris and D. Wright.
  • Sealed Series:
    • Frontmarkers: F. Engelsman;
    • Middlemarkers: M. Crawford;
    • Backmarkers: M. Morton;
    • New and Returning Runners: K. Bahari.
  • Most Improved: S. Curtain;
  • Most Impressive: K. Walker;
  • Best First Year Runner: K. Bahari.
Posted in Club News

Newgrove Benchtops Eliminator

A smallish field of 49 assembled for the time honoured Newgrove Benchtops Eliminator at the Canoe Club on Sunday with an increasing wind affecting exposed parts of the river path. All entrants had to complete both the 4 km and 3 km events with the best performed twenty qualifying for the 2 km final.

For the first time in ages, it was a backmarker who took home the prized trophy. Pat Hagan spotted the limit markers six minutes start and only reached the lead in the last fifty metres when he overtook Coral Bridgland with Navid Rashid a close third. It was Hagan’s first club win and he has wrapped up this season’s club championship with a string of fastest times. Madeline Crawford was the fastest female in the final.

Top 10 Placings

P. Hagan 6.03, C. Bridgland 11.56, N.Rashid 8.19, S. Curtain 7.20, L. Haines 6.57, S. Beaulac 8.18, C. Rose 7.33, E. Kelly 6.59, A.Jenkins 9.11, M. Crawford 8.22.

The next club event is the Dawn Buster at the Carousel at 7 a.m. on New Year’s Eve.

Posted in Race Results

Upcoming Events

2023 Membership

Coming soon!